Celebrating 20 years of advocacy.

Tuesday, Aug 14

Diane Dewing – ETFO’s OTF Table Officer, and incoming OTF President

Diane Dewing

ETFO OTF Table Officer Diane Dewing followed the presentation of OTF President Chris Cowley and reinforced the importance of the partnership agreement that governs the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan. The plan continues to be a top-earning pension plan that is supported by a $10.3 billion surplus. The surplus has allowed the fund to discontinue conditional […]

OTF President Chris Cowley

Outgoing OTF President Chris Cowley

OTF President Chris Cowley brought greetings on behalf of the Ontario Teachers’ Federation. He reflected on how teachers fought back against the College of Teacher proposed fee increase. OTF coordinated a campaign so the college knew that almost 100 percent of teachers opposed the fee increase, which was ultimately voted down as a result of […]

VIDEO: Queen’s Park Rally

Here is the tweet containing the live stream link. The video has been archived by Twitter for your viewing pleasure! LIVE STREAM – #ETFO Queen’s Park Rally for a Modern Health and Physical Education Curriculum. #ETFOam2018 https://t.co/BsA7ADjkGa — Elementary Educators (@ETFOeducators) August 14, 2018

Rally in Support of a Modern Health Curriculum

Members of the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO) and other concerned groups joined together at Queen’s Park to protest the Ontario government’s repeal of the 2015 sexual health curriculum. Speakers Rayne Fisher-Quann, actor Debra McGrath and her daughter Kinley Mochrie, Canadian Civil Liberties Association Executive Director Michael Bryant, lawyer and member of  Muslims for […]

The General Secretary’s Report

General Secretary Sharon O'Halloran

At the end of Session 3, prior to departing for the Queen’s Park Rally, General Secretary Sharon O’Halloran delivered her report to delegates. She began by directing delegates to the information contained in the three reports in their registration packages: the Annual Report, the EWS Report, and the Supplementary Report of the General Secretary. These […]

2017-2018 Award Recipients

ETFO award winners were recognized this afternoon at the beginning of Session 4. Congratulations to all the winners! Anti-Bias Award – Media Release Emily Fortney-Blunt, Lambton Kent Teacher Local Arts and Culture Award – Media Release Katie Tremblay-Beaton, Durham Teacher Local Children’s Literature Award – Media Release Mark Gunning, Niagara Teacher Local Curriculum Development Award […]

Andrea Horwath, Ontario NDP Leader, addresses delegates, takes questions

Andrea Horwath

ETFO annual meeting delegates welcomed NDP Leader of the Opposition, Andrea Horwath. She began by thanking educators for shaping the lives of Ontario students every day and shaping the future of Ontario through our work. She also thanked ETFO members for their endorsement and hard work in the provincial election, mentioning their work knocking on […]

Photos from Sessions 1 & 2


Here is a selection of photographs from Sessions 1 and 2 on Monday by official Annual Meeting photographer Kathryn Gaitens… ” order_by=”sortorder” order_direction=”ASC” returns=”included” maximum_entity_count=”500″]

© 2018 - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario | Privacy & Terms of Use | Accessibility | Login