ETFO Action on Violence in Schools - Making our Schools Safe

Janet Bigham honoured with the 2017 President’s Award

Simcoe County Teacher Local President Janet Bigham has been honoured with the 2017 President’s Award.

Sam Hammond with Janet Bigham

Sam Hammond with Janet Bigham

Media Release

Simcoe County teacher local president Janet Bigham receives prestigious ETFO President’s Award

For Immediate Release – August 17, 2017

(TORONTO)  Simcoe County Teacher Local President Janet Bigham received the prestigious annual President’s Award at the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario’s (ETFO) Annual Meeting today.

In announcing the award, ETFO President Sam Hammond paid tribute to the outstanding service that Janet has given to ETFO, its members and students in almost three decades of service.

“Janet continues to be a solid local leader who is responsive to her members’ needs. She understands that ensuring good teacher working conditions creates a better learning environment for students,” Hammond told over 800 delegates to the Federation’s Annual Meeting. “Over the years I have admired Janet’s principled approach to representing her members and her dedication to publicly funded public education.”

“Janet has gone out of her way to stand in solidarity and support the broader labour movement as a delegate to conferences of the Canadian Labour Congress and Ontario Federation of Labour. These relationships are what propel the broader labour movement to fight for public services that benefit our students and families.”

As president of her local, Janet represents approximately 2,400 teachers at the Simcoe County School Board. She was elected first vice-president of her local in 2006 and has served as president for 10 years.

ETFO is committed to building better schools. Its Building Better Schools education agenda can be viewed at The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario represents 78,000 elementary public school teachers, occasional teachers and education professionals across the province.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2017 - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario | Privacy & Terms of Use | Accessibility | Login