ETFO Action on Violence in Schools - Making our Schools Safe

Tuesday, Aug 15

OTF Update to 2017 Annual Meeting Delegates

OTF President Mike Foulds

ETFO Executive Member Diane Dewing introduced Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF) President Mike Foulds. Mike Foulds is the 73rd president of OTF. He was elected by the OTF board of governors at their annual meeting in 2016. Foulds has been active in OSSTF/FEESO since 2004 and has served as OTF governor since 2009. He has been […]

Candidate lists for Executive, Executive (Female) finalized

Voting box

Nominations have closed for the positions of Executive Member and Executive Member (Female) on the 2017-2019 Provincial Executive. As this is being written, the doors of the ballroom are tiled and the candidates are delivering their speeches to delegates. The vote will take place on Wednesday afternoon in Session 6. Here are the candidates in […]

2016-2017 Award Recipients

Award winners at ETFO Annual Meeting 2017

ETFO award winners were recognized this afternoon at the beginning of Session 4. Congratulations to all the winners! Health & Safety Activist Award – Media Release Jennifer Elliott, Simcoe County Teacher Local Member Service and Engagement Award – Media Release Bluewater Occasional Teacher Local Outstanding Role Model for Women Award –Women’s Program – Media Release […]

ETFO Action on Violence in Schools

Member from Violence in Schools video

At the end of Session 3, President Sam Hammond released a new video on reporting violent incidents that is part of a multi-year strategy for addressing violence in schools. The strategy includes: Lobbying the Ministries of Education and Labour to address violent incidents in schools and improve school board compliance with health and safety legislation; […]

Nahanni Fontaine Addresses Annual Meeting Delegates

Nahanni Fontaine

ETFO First Vice-President Susan Swackhammer introduced the Social Justice Speaker Nahanni Fontaine. Ms. Fontaine is Status Ojibway from the Sagkeeng Anishinaabe First Nation in southern Manitoba. She was elected as the Member of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba for the riding of St. Johns in 2016. Before entering politics, Ms. Fontaine worked as Special Advisor […]

ETFO Annual Meeting in the News

Latest news

ETFO’s Monday press conference on Ontario education funding was covered by the following media outlets: School fundraising report says amounts raised far outpace government grants for needy areas – Toronto Star Province’s funding formula ‘has shortchanged’ students, elementary teachers union says – CBC Toronto WATCH: Teachers’ union calling for review of Ontario’s education funding formula […]

© 2017 - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario | Privacy & Terms of Use | Accessibility | Login