Bargaining for the future. Respecting our past.

Tuesday, August 18

Labour resource released at Annual Meeting today

Learning from Labour title page

Today First Vice-President Susan Swackhammer announced the release of a new labour-focused resource containing lesson plans for the intermediate division. Members can download the Learning from Labour resource for free on this web page. It will also be available soon at under ‘Resources.’

OTF President Rian McLaughlin delivers her report

OTF President Rian McLaughlin

Outgoing OTF President and ETFO OTF Table Officer Rian McLaughlin delivered her final OTF report this afternoon. McLaughlin began by outlining OTF’s professional learning initiatives and advocacy work on behalf of Ontario’s teachers. For example, it was revealed that the ‘Survive and Thrive’ website for beginning teachers would soon be redeveloped. The issue of Ontario […]

Guests at the 2015 Annual Meeting

Jim Iker, President of BCTF

This morning during Session 3, BCTF President Jim Iker was welcomed to ETFO’s Annual Meeting by President Sam Hammond.  Iker received a standing ovation from ETFO delegates. Other guests who visited during Session 3 include: Ken Collins, QECO; Jean Franklin, Honorary Life Member; Jim Breckenridge, Ministry of Labour; Dave Kendall, Past President; and Emily Noble, […]

CB eNewsletter – President to reveal fall work-to-rule strategy on Thursday

OUR Union brand

Members and subscribers were sent the following CB eNewsletter today reminding them to tune into ETFO President Sam Hammond’s closing speech from Annual Meeting on Thursday. Hammond will announce next steps for this fall in ETFO’s work-to-rule strike action.

Candidates for Executive Member & Executive Member (Female)

Ballot box

Delegates heard speeches from the following candidates during Session 4 this afternoon: Executive Member: Yvette Blackburn – Elementary Teachers of Toronto Nathan Core – Waterloo Region Occasional Teacher Local Alan Heatherington – Thames Valley Teacher Local Kelly Holley – Algoma Teacher Local David Mastin – Durham Teacher Local Greg Weiler – Waterloo Region Teacher Local […]

2014-2015 Award Recipients

ETFO award winners:

ETFO award winners were recognized this afternoon at the beginning of Session 4. Congratulations to all the winners! Here is a list of the winners: Arts and Culture Award – Media Release Melanie Blanchard, Simcoe County Teacher Local Children’s Literature Award – Media Release Beverley Terrell-Deutsch, Non-member Curriculum Development Award – Media Release Sue Irwin, […]

© 2015 - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario | Privacy & Terms of Use | Login